# MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON MONDAY, 16 APRIL 2007

#### COUNCILLORS

### **PRESENT**

Dogan Delman, Pamela Adams, Christopher Andrew, Kate Anolue, Alan Barker, John Boast, Chris Bond, Yasemin Brett, Kris Brown, Jayne Buckland, Lee Chamberlain, Bambos Charalambous, Christopher Cole, Andreas Constantinides, Tony Dey, Annette Dreblow, Christiana During, Peter Fallart, Norman Ford, Achilleas Georgiou, Vivien Giladi, Del Goddard, Ahmet Hasan, Elaine Hayward, Robert Hayward, Ruth Hones, Ertan Hurer, John Jackson, Eric Jukes, Jon Kaye, Matthew Laban, Henry Lamprecht, Bernadette Lappage, Michael Lavender, Paul McCannah, Donald McGowan, Chris Murphy, Ayfer Orhan, Ahmet Oykener, Anne-Marie Pearce, Martin Prescott, Geoffrey Robinson, Jeff Rodin, Michael Rye, George Savva MBE, Toby Simon, Terence Smith, Andrew Stafford, Doug Taylor, Glynis Vince, Kate Wilkinson and Ann Zinkin

The Council (27 June 2007) agreed the following amendment: Councillor Terence Smith to be recorded as being present at the meeting.

**ABSENT** 

Gregory Antoniou, Chaudhury Anwar MBE, Jonas Hall, Denise Headley, Chris Joannides, Dino Lemonides, Kieran McGregor, Terence Neville, Henry Pipe, Eleftherios Savva and Edward Smith

1 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Antoniou, Joannides, Hall, Neville, Pipe, E Savva, E Smith and T Smith.

# 2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

There were no declarations of interest.

# 3 HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF ENFIELD CEREMONY

Councillor Rye spoke in support of conferring this important honour to the worthy individuals that had been nominated. He moved the following motion and invited the Council to confer the Freedom of the Borough upon the following:

"That in pursuance of the Local Government Act 1972, The Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Enfield be conferred upon:

#### **Lord Graham of Edmonton**

#### **COUNCIL - 16.4.2007**

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution as a Councillor, MP and Minister and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

#### **Councillor Pamela Adams**

in recognition of her long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For her outstanding contribution to the voluntary sector and as an expression of the high esteem in which she is held.

#### Ken Allen

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to the voluntary sector and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

#### **Councillor Kate Anolue**

in recognition of her long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For her outstanding contribution to the voluntary sector and as an expression of the high esteem in which she is held.

## John Egan KSG

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to Education and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

#### **Brian Grayston**

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to Education and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

#### **Bill Price**

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to the industrial base of business in the Borough and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

#### **Gary Walker**

in recognition of the long and valuable public service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to the Enfield Strategic Partnership and the Enterprise Agency and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

Councillor Rodin seconded the motion, he endorsed the comments of Councillor Rye and both spoke in support of the individuals nominated who had contributed so much to the Borough of Enfield.

#### **COUNCIL - 16.4.2007**

The Mayor invited the Council to agree the motion, which had been moved and seconded. The Council unanimously agreed the motion.

RESOLVED pursuant to the Local Government Act 1972, The Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of Enfield be conferred upon:

Lord Graham of Edmonton Councillor Pamela Adams Ken Allen Councillor Kate Anolue John Egan KSG Bill Price Gary Walker

The Mayor called upon the Borough Solicitor to administer the Oath of an Honorary Freeman:

"Do you, Lord Graham of Edmonton, Councillor Pamela Adams, Ken Allen, Councillor Kate Anolue, John Egan KSG, Bill Price and Gary Walker

Solemnly and sincerely declare that you will abide in peace and tranquillity within the London Borough of Enfield, and with all those who have their lawful business within its bounds, including the Mayor and Council, whom you will aid with your best counsel and advice, and uphold and defend the provisions of the Charter granted by our Sovereign Lady Queen Elizabeth the Second, and all observances and customs of this London Borough defend and keep."

The Honorary Freeman replied "I do".

The Mayor rose and said to each of the new seven Honorary Freeman, separately in turn,:-

"Honorary Freeman of the London Borough of Enfield, in accordance with the ancient custom I give you the hand of Friendship as an Honorary Freeman of the London Borough and I now invite you to sign the Roll of Honorary Freemen and to accept this Badge and certificate of Freedom".

The Mayor, after each of the new Honorary Freemen had signed the Roll and it had been witnessed by the Mayor and the Borough Solicitor handed to each Freeman in turn their badge and certificate.

Lord Graham having accepted the Badge and Certificate addressed the Council, followed by the other new Freeman.

# The Council (27 June 2007) agreed the following amendment:

Minute 3 (page 3) - Resolutions

Insert the name "Brian Grayston" after John Egan KSG on lines 9 and 15.